Vanilla Caramel Glaze

Post Number 100! Shall we celebrate?

YES!! Yes we should. Let’s celebrate today with a post that sums up what having a blog is all about. Failures and yummy discoveries! Not everything I make can taste good. It wouldn’t be any fun if it did, and my recipe collection would grow to an uncontrollable size!! Bad news first? I think so! That way we will end on a good note:)

Let me tell you, very very little of this banana pudding cake made it into my belly. Very very little! It was really really bad!

Blog Pic #310

It was a MAJOR failure. I was so excited to try it out because it comes from that wonderful Peanut Butter Comfort Cookbook, but I was horribly disappointed. Everyone in my house loves banana bread. The five of us could pretty much chow down on an entire loaf in one morning! I figured this recipe would pretty much be a really rich banana bread baked in a square cake pan, but I was wrong! I was very very wrong. This was not a richer version of banana bread, instead this was a squishy, wet, underbaked (even though I baked it for more than double the time listed in the recipe), banana mush cake. I like it sometimes when the top of the banana bread is slightly doughy from being underbaked, but this was too much! WAY too much! I kid you not, this cake squished when you touched it! That’s how wet it was. It was also extremely oily. You can see it in the pictures pretty well. When I slid it onto the pink plate, my hand were covered in a shiny glaze of grease and oil:P

Blog Pic #311

I am not sharing this recipe today! I put a big “X” on it in my cookbook so I would remember, even though I am pretty positive I will not forget this disaster because we threw away the cake:( You know it’s bad when that happens. We don’t waste food at my house, but we knew nobody was going to touch that banana cake.

Fortunately, this nasty cake was drizzled with a little bit of heaven. Lots of the Vanilla Caramel glaze made it into my belly. I drowned my baking sorrows in spoonfuls of its creaminess.

Blog Pic #312

Its caramel flavor comes from the fact that you boil brown sugar and butter together before adding the vanilla, milk and powdered sugar. I love it like I love browned butter! It’s so great. I am brainstorming ideas things to glaze other than the banana pudding cake because as much as I love it with a spoon, I think I need to put it on something. Maybe some GOOD cake, or brownies, maybe pancakes? I don’t know! There are no rules though! I can put it on whatever I want:) You should too! In order to do that, you’ll need the recipe:)

Again, I suggest you just buy this cookbook! I have only found one flop of a recipe so far!!

Blog Pic #296

Vanilla Caramel Glaze

(This recipe is very quick, so have all of your ingredients ready to go before you start)

1/4 cup melted butter

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 T milk or cream (I used milk)

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 – 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

  1. In a small sauce pan, bring brown sugar and butter to a boil over medium-high heat. Stir continuously. Allow mixture to boil for 2 minutes, stirring continuously.
  2. Remove from heat and add whisk in cream. (mixture may bubble)
  3. Whisk in vanilla. (mixture may bubble)
  4. Add powdered sugar a 1/2 cup at a time until desired consistency is reached.
  5. Drizzle or pour glaze on immediately because over time this glaze will crystallize and harden slightly, making it difficult to glaze later.
One thought on “Vanilla Caramel Glaze

Leave a Reply

