White Cheddar – Cauliflower Casserole

We all know cauliflower, right? But did you know cauliflower is more than just the white version of broccoli. Recently I have been seeing it at the grocery store in various colors. They have purple, orange and green!! Like WHAT?? So far, we have only tried the orange kind. It doesn’t taste different, but it’s much more fun to eat. I wanted to try a new color when we bought the cauliflower for this recipe, but I figured green or purple mash wouldn’t look as appetizing. Cauliflower is also cool because it can be used to make so many fun things. It has been used as a replacement for pizza crust, rice, and for this recipe potatoes! People use it as a replacement because it isn’t full of carbs and it’s a vegetable!

**As a side note that is WAAAYYYY off topic, I wanted to tell you that I updated the photos for the Very Veggie Fried Rice. I made it for my sister the other night and took advantage of the opportunity to take better photos because the previous ones were not super appetizing**

Well instead of filling my belly with starchy potatoes, I decided to fill it with some cauliflower casserole.

Blog Pic #317

If you’re nervous about the taste, don’t be!! It is so full of cheese and bacon, you can’t even tell! Everyone in my family loved it!! Nobody cared or seemed to mind that it was cauliflower.

Blog Pic #318

It doesn’t get as smooth as potatoes do, but if you really steam up the cauliflower it gets pretty close. Don’t worry about overcooking the broccoli. I think mine steamed for about 20 minutes! The longer it steams the better. I then put the cauliflower in a food processor (not all at once!) to mash it up. Once I had the cauliflower all mashed up, I added the cream cheese, white cheddar cheese, sour cream, and bacon. That’s it:) Super simple ingredients!

Blog Pic #319

I adjusted the amounts slightly to fit my needs. I put in 6 oz of cream cheese which is a little more than the recipe calls for because I wanted to use up our cream cheese before it went bad. As a reaction to this, I used only 6 oz of shredded white cheddar and only 1 tablespoon of sour cream.

Remember those cookbooks I found a couple of weeks ago? Well this recipe comes from one of them:)

101 Cozy Casseroles

Blog Pic #320

White Cheddar – Cauliflower Casserole

1 head cauliflower, cooked and mashed

8 oz package shredded white Cheddar cheese, divided

1/2 lb bacon, crisply cooked, crumbled and divided

1/2 cup cream cheese

2 T sour cream

salt and pepper to taste

Combine cauliflower, half the cheddar cheese and 3/4 of the bacon in a bowl. Add cream cheese and sour cream; mix well. Spread mixture into a 8 by 8 in ch pan; top with remaining cheese and bacon. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes, until bubbly and golden around edges.

Leave a Reply

