Apple Zucchini Muffins

So we thought we were only going to get about 2 more zucchini from our garden…turns out we’re going to have more like 6! Bring on the zucchini recipes! I only have a couple of days before I move back to college, so I am trying to pack in as much baking as possible! I’ll have my crock pot at college, but baking will not be an everyday event:( Packing a lot of recipes into these last couple of days also means that I will have lots of recipes to continue posting at the beginning of the year. However, once that supply of recipes runs out, I may only be able to add one blog post per week. I am going to try really hard to not let that happen, but school will get crazy like it always does.

You know what school means? School means apples! Well at least  for me it does. I ate one everyday last year because they were the only fresh fruit constantly available in the cafeteria. Apples are also connected to teachers, and I am majoring in elementary education! Finally, school means apples because school means fall and fall is apple season:) I can’t wait to make it to the apple orchard this year!!

I love both eating and baking with apples, so today I made some Zucchini Apple Muffins so my belly could enjoy some of those delicious apples, and I could use more of our massive zucchinis!

Blog Pic #322

I am sharing this recipe today, but I want you to know that I am not in love with it. They were good muffins that were best straight from the oven, but they didn’t blow my mind. They are a very simple muffin! They have a very subtle sweetness. I liked this about them! Usually breads made with zucchini are very sweet, but these ones have very little sugar and have more of a natural taste to them. These muffins are really healthy and they taste it. Not in a bad way, if that makes sense? They just don’t taste like they have loads of sugar and oil, which they don’t, so I guess that’s a good thing.

I think I closed the lid of the tupperware I had them in a little too early because my muffins got a little “wet” on their tops. I don’t know if that’s exactly the word I am looking for, but that’s the best word I have right now. I also think that I could have made the tops a little more crisp by adding some bigger sugar crystals, or by using less cinnamon in my cinnamon and sugar mixture.

Blog Pic #323

Please take note of the adorable muffin liners!! They were another gift from Terri and they are so stinkin’ cute! They encompass my zucchini muffins in a sweet little flower:) Rose, thought they kind of looked like little pink corn on the cobs, which is kind of true! Maybe next time I’ll make cornbread muffins in them;) But for now, I like to think of them as flowers!

So if you’re craving some baked goods with apples, these are what you should try! Yes, they have zucchini, but you can never actually taste the zucchini, so it is pretty much just a cinnamon apple muffin:) Muffins are great for morning when you are on the go. I am not a mom, and have no plans to be any time soon (I’m only 19!!!), but I am guessing these would be a nice, healthy, on-the-go breakfast for your kids during the school year! If I was your kid, I know I would love it AND YOU, for making them for me:)

Blog Pic #321

http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/apple-zucchini-muffins/

Apple Zucchini Muffins

ingredients:

For the Muffins:
2 1/4 cups white whole wheat flour
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 tablespoon oil (melted coconut oil, canola oil, or vegetable oil)
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup grated apple (I use Granny Smith)
1/2 cup grated zucchini, moisture slightly squeezed out
1 cup chopped peeled apple (I use Granny Smith)

For the Topping:
2 tablespoons turbinado sugar
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a muffin pan with paper liners or spray with cooking spray. Set aside.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, brown sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and all-spice. In a small bowl, whisk together buttermilk, applesauce, oil, egg, and vanilla extract. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and mix with a wooden spoon or spatula until just combined. Do not over mix. Gently stir in the grated apple, zucchini, and chopped apples.

3. To make the topping, combine turbinado sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Stir well.

4. Fill the prepared muffin pan with muffin batter, filling each cup about 3/4 the way full. Sprinkle each muffin with cinnamon sugar topping. Bake for 20 minutes, or until muffins are golden and a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Let muffins cool to room temperature and serve.

Leave a Reply

