Greek Tomatoes

Well I’m at college now, and it definitely feels weird. My parents and older sister dropped me off yesterday. It was a long long day. I woke up at 5:30 in the morning so that I could, you know, PACK! Because apparently I thought I didn’t need to do that sooner. I had gotten home at 12 the night before and hadn’t gone to sleep until 1, so I was working off of 4.5 hours of sleep! Well because of my stupidity, I got up at 5:30, and I did a whole lot of packing. Turns out that not getting a lot of sleep makes you very tired! Who knew? So I fell asleep on my bed for like 15 minutes then went down stairs to watch some Gilmore Girls:) (One of the best shows out there). So I sat there until church, and then I figured I would finish packing when we ogt home. So we went to church, we came home, I finished packing, and by 2 I was ready to go. And off we went!

This year I am living with a friend that I met last year! It’s exciting because I didn’t have a roommate last year! She moved out on me a couple weeks into the semester with no warning…apparently we didn’t get along!? So not only did I get to pick my roommate, but my roommate and I also got to pick our room! We chose 4th floor because it’s nice being on the top and it keeps us in shape;) Unfortunately, while fourth floor is ideal for calf muscles and leg strength, it’s not ideal for move-in day:/ And I am not exactly a light packer:/ Sorry Mom, Dad, and Erin!

After Moving me in, we went out to dinner at the cutest restaurant called the Smilin’ Moose! We’ve been there once before and it was so good, we decided to go back! After dinner, my sister treated us to frozen yogurt!! That means I got sprinkles:) Lots and lots of them!! They dropped me back off after that, and I cried like I always do! What was nice though is that I went back to a room that wasn’t empty! I think I am going to like having someone there all the time:)

Well back to college means I can’t cook all the time and the variety of fresh produce available to me decreases drastically:( Luckily, I have a great mom who sent me back with lots of food from our fridge! I got a large zucchini to make bread in, an apple, a peach, some bananas, a pear…oh wait you probably don’t car to hear my list of foods! Well, just know I got a lot of fruits and vegetables!

This summer, especially towards the end, we had a constant stream of tomatoes coming from our garden! They are yummy and delicious, but we just could not keep up! Today’s recipe was an attempt to make a dent in our tomato collection. It seemed to do its job, but then my mom picked from the garden and we were swimming in tomatoes again!

So after that super long intro, I can now tell you what’s in my belly today! Its Greek Tomatoes:)

Blog Pic #328

As I wrote out this recipe for you, I was remembering how little attention I payed to the amounts of ingredients in this recipe. I simply cut up all the tomatoes I wanted to use, added some red onions and olives  so that it looked like a good amount, and then poured in what was left of our feta cheese. I also only made half of the dressing because it looked like that would be enough. So I’ll give you the recipe, but just chop up what you think looks right for you. If you love olives add a whol bunch of them, or if red onions aren’t your thing, don’t add them! Do whatever works for you:) Add the dressing in whatever amount you think is necessary!

Blog Pic #329

I absolutely adore all of the ingredients in this recipe! Olives have always held a special place in my heart<3 Feta cheese is the bomb! And it doesn’t get much better than fresh tomatoes from the garden! Greek is one of my favorite “flavors”! If you’re a big fan of the Greek flavors you will love this salad too! It’s easy and makes those tomatoes even easier to eat up! This is best once it’s marinated in the dressing for a while! It allows the tomatoes to soak up all the flavor from the dressing and it allows the flavors to mix and create a lovely new taste!:)

Blog PIc #327

Greek Tomatoes

2 1/2 pounds tomatoes, diced

1 red onion, sliced or chopped

2 1/4 oz can pitted kalamata olives, sliced and drained

1/4 lb to 1/2 lb feta cheese

Dried oregano leaves

1/2 cup vegetable or olive oil

2 tablespoon cider vinegar

1/4 cup wine vinegar

Mix first 4 ingredients in a large bowl, set aside. Whisk together the oregano, oil, and vinegars. Pour dressing over tomato mixture and stir to coat. Allow the tomato mixture to marinate in the dressing for several hours in the fridge before enjoying:)

Leave a Reply

