Homemade Cookie Butter Peanut Butter & More

So did you know I like Cookie Butter? Well I do! I’m in love with that stuff!:) I’ve especially been enjoying the crunchy variety!! I really need to make a trip to Trader Joes to try their Speculoos Cookie & Cocoa Swirl! I’ve been using cookie butter all summer long. Example: these cookies and these bars. So I thought it was about time I tried my own homemade version. I knew it wasn’t going to taste identical to the original spread, but I thought I’d give it a try.

My belly today is filled with a delicious spread that’s definitely not cookie butter, but is delicious in its own way!

This “Cookie Butter” is sweet and cinnamon-y and wonderful! The peanut taste is still there, so in that way it’s different from the actual Cookie Butter. Trust me though it’s delicious! Especially on bagels, which is how I have been enjoying it:) Don’t expect a Cookie Butter replica, but do expect deliciousness, as you should with everything on my blog;)

I love making homemade peanut butter, especially when I am at college. Well not while I’m AT college, but on the weekends when I am home so that I can bring it back to college because bringing a food processor to my dorm is  little strange and unnecessary! So before I came back to college I made sure to make peanut butters to bring back! I only made two, but I also brought some real cookie butter and this awesome looking honey butter I found at a a candy store!

Blog Pic #333

That Peanut Butter Comfort Cookbook I love so much has tons of peanut butter varieties to make, so I use those a lot when I am making peanut butter. This homemade cookie butter, however, was not in her cookbook. Instead it was on her blog!

So I think I’ll first share with you the way to make homemade peanut butter! It’s beyond simple!

  1. Buy peanuts.
  2. Pour peanuts in food processor.
  3. Turn on food Processor.
  4. Let it go for 5 minutes. (If you get nervous about your processor getting too hot, just take short breaks every once in a while, but it’ll take about 5 minutes of processing to get your peanuts nice and creamy!)

That’s it! Easy as pie:) Just as a little note, the peanuts will first be ground up into a rough sand like texture, then they’ll start clumping into a ball, then the ball will thin out into a spread! You can help the process along by stopping the food processor and scraping down the sides because sometimes they get a little stuck. Other recipes say you can add oil as necessary if your peanut butter is not getting creamy enough, but I have never really had that problem.

Blog Pic #335

You can use unsalted, salted, lightly-salted, and honey roasted peanuts!! So many choices! Just use whatever you think will taste best! If you don’t like it, try a new kind! Some simple recipes I have made are…

Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter = 1 1/2 cup peanuts of choice (I recommenf unsalted or even honey roasted for a sweeter flavor) blended until creamy. Add 1 tsp cinnamon AFTER you have a creamy blend of peanuts, NOT before. I have had issues of the peanut butter not reaching a creamy consistency when I add the cinnamon too early. Process the peanuts and raisins until blended. Finally stir in about 1/4 cup raisins.

Crunchy Peanut Butter = 1 1/2 cup peanuts processed until creamy. Add another 1/4 to 1/2 cup of peanuts in the final moments of processing, allowing them to remain in bigger pieces!

Chocolate Peanut Butter = 1 1/2 cups peanuts of choice (honey roasted would make it even sweeter) processed until creamy. When creamy, add about 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1/2 cup chocolate chips, melted. You can add more melted chocolate to suit your taste preferences!

If you haven’t noticed yet, I don’t usually follow a recipe as written. I add and subtract ingredients as I see fit. You should do the same! Especially with homemade peanut butters! My only suggestion is getting those peanuts nice and creamy before trying to add anything else!

Blog Pic #334

I’ve made lots of different peanut butters and I’ve also made homemade Nutella and Cinnamon Almond Butter, but I’ll share those later! Next time I make a new nut butter recipe, I will be sure to also share a couple of my older recipes:)

So first I am going to give you my recipe! Because that’s the one in the pictures and the one that I have actually tasted, but I’ll also post the link to her blog so you can see what her recipe says. I changed it only a little. I left out the cinnamon (mostly because I forgot about it, but like I said I have had issues with adding cinnamon to my homemade nut butters) and I reduced the chocolate because I thought hers called for a bit much, and I didn’t want a candy spread:)

Ellie’s Homemade Cookie Butter Peanut Butter

1 1/2 cups honey roasted peanuts

2 sheets of cinnamon graham crackers

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup white chocolate chips, melted

  1. Process peanuts until creamy.
  2. Add graham cracker and vanilla; process until smooth.
  3. Process in melted white chocolate chips.

Here’s the link to her website!

http://www.averiecooks.com/2013/01/homemade-cookie-butter-peanut-butter.html

Leave a Reply

