Carrot Zucchini Nut Bread

“Yummy yummy yummy I got love in my tummy!”

Do you all know that song? It was on one of my kid’s party CDs when I was younger, and we listened to it all the time. It’s kind of a weird song, but it’s the song that came to mind the second I took a bite of this bread! That first bite was a magical one! A moment that I will never forget!…Okay that’s a bit on the dramatic side, but seriously this is one of my favorite recipes I have posted on the blog!

Every morning for the past couple of days I have been savoring each and every bite of this incredible Carrot Zucchini Nut Bread! Even after eating it every day, my belly is still begging to be filled with more!

I determined about a year ago that carrot cake was my favorite dessert EVER! I love it so stinkin’ much! I don’t like it with pineapple or coconut though. That’s just not my thing. I prefer it with lots of crunchy pecans and loaded with carrots! It doesn’t even need frosting! But I could never say no to frosting;) Ever since I discovered my passion for carrot cake, I have been making carrot cake everything and pinning carrot cake everything!! I made carrot cake for Easter this past year (below is a pretty picture of it), I made carrot cake pancakes because I love love love pancakes, and I also made carrot cake banana bread (which was amazing and super healthy if I remember correctly). I am pretty sure I’d love anything “carrot cakey”. However I have tried the Carrot Cake Clif Bar, and I was not a fan of that at all! Oh and I saw carrot cake candy corn…and I’m not sure if that’s a god idea or not! I am a MEGA fan of candy corn, especially the pumpkins!!, but there’s something about carrot cake candy corn that seems odd… I have tried carrot cake M&Ms and those were good, but they were pretty much just white chocolate with some spices! I hope to make these delicious looking carrot cake blondie-ish bars soon! But enough about all the ways I eat carrot cake, let’s get back to today’s recipe.

Blog Pic #336

Carrot Zucchini Nut Bread! Oh I am in heaven just thinking about it. It was the softest bread ever. It was velvety and delicious! I’m not exaggerating this was some smooth bread, well except the nuts because those were nice and crunchy as they should be! But I love balancing out the smooth and silky bread with some crunch and texture. I made this bread on August 27th I think, and I finished the last piece yesterday (September 2) and it was still unbelievably tasty and still had tons of delicious and rich moisture! Mmmmm! I can still taste it:) I just can’t get over it! I want another piece right now!

Blog Pic #330

I think this this bread qualifies as breakfast food, but it tastes like dessert! I enjoyed it both ways, and you should too! Why not eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! Maybe even as a snack! Try hard to eat it slow and appreciate each tiny crumb, but I’d understand if you find yourself shoveling it in your mouth!

Blog Pic #331

Look at how perfect that carrot tray is for this bread! Rose let me borrow it. She just happened to have the perfect tray laying around her house! Perfect size and perfect decoration! I miss Rose so much! I’m back at college and now we won’t see each other every week to watch Pretty Little Liars and bake with Biscoff/Cookie Butter:(

Blog Pic #332

Join me in my love affair with carrot cake and make this bread! TODAY!! Your hungry-for-breakfast belly with thank you!!

Carrot Zucchini Nut Bread

1 3/4 cup AP flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans (I used a mixture of the two)

2 tsp cinnamon

1 1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 cup sugar

1 cup oil

1/2 cup honey

3 eggs

2 cups shredded zucchini

1 cup shredded carrots

In a medium bowl, combine first 8 ingredients, ending with baking powder; set aside. In a large bowl with electric mixer at medium speed, beat sugar, oil, honey, and eggs until fluffy. With spoon, stir in zucchini and carrots. Stir in dry ingredients just until moistened. Pour into two greased and floured 9 by 5 inch loaf pans. Bake at 325 for 50 – 60 minutes or until tooth pick comes out clean. Cool in pans for 10 minutes. Turn out onto racks to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

