Vanilla Cupcakes

Prepare yourself for some super duper over the top cuteness! Cupcakes are a rare occasion at my house. I have told you before that we are not cake people. Never have been, never will be. So when I get the opportunity to make cupcakes, I jump in with all my heart because I never know when I’ll get to do it again:( And because I was making these for the kiddos at my work, I went crazy with the cuteness!!

While my family may not enjoy filling our bellies with personal little cakes, everyone else seems to enjoy doing so. These little cupcakes were gobbled up and filled the bellies of all the little children who attended the daycare I worked at this summer.

Summer flew by as it always does. I worked at the daycare all summer, so I wanted to make my last day special and bring a homemade treat to share with the kids. I was brainstorming one day at work, when I suddenly remembered the candy bucket. I decided to take a peek to see if anything caught my attention or would spark an idea. And then I saw them! Those Dum Dums stared at me, daring me to find a way to incorporate them into my treat. After lot’s and lot’s of brainstorming I decided on turning those Dum Dums into flowers to place on some cupcakes! And here’s what I ended up with:)

Blog Pic #340

Adorableness!! To make the flowers I simply cut Mike & Ikes (I used the Italian Ice and the Berry Blast Varieties) in half and stuck the sticky side onto the Dum Dum. They stuck really well at first, but a couple hours later and the petals were wilting and falling off:'( I was so sad! It is such a cute way to decorate cupcakes, but it is unlikely that they will last long. Perhaps it would be best to have the kids make their own flowers, but then again, most kids would eat the candy before making the flower, and then there’s no point! I ended up bringing the wilted flowers to work and had a few kids help me “glue” the Mike and Ikes back on with extra frosting.

At lunch the kids gobbled them up, even though there appearance had gone down hill fast! Don’t worry, they had to finish their lunch before they got a cupcake;) Every kid took one and every kid ate the entire thing! Even a little girl I was with who claimed she only ate frosting ended up shoving the remaining cupcake in her mouth:)

**A side note because I like to rant about random stuff! Have you ever gone to the Mike & Ike Website? Well I just did because I wanted to see the flavors. There’s a lot of them!! It’s super cool! There’s Root Beer Float, Cotton Candy, and Lemonade Blends! I love when things come in so many flavors, and now I want to try every single one! I am exactly the type of person that these companies are after when they advertise. They suck me in every time I see a new flavor!

Back to my cupcakes. After a morning filled with disappointment, I decided to decorate the three bigger cupcakes I had leftover in a different way. Again, I used Dum Dums! This time I didn’t stick anything to them, I simply decorated the cupcakes with Dum Dum baloons.

Blog Pic #339

I got the idea from this website…

http://www.pepperdesignblog.com/2012/06/04/balloon-bunch-cupcakes-a-baby-shower/.

I actually might like these better, and not just because they actually stayed in place and didn’t fall apart. I love them because I think they just look so perfect with the cupcake liners! I have gotten so many uses out of those cupcake liners! Zucchini Bread and Oatmeal Creme Pie Cupcakes both used these liners! This is the last recipe that will use them though because they are officially gone:( But I have lots more to keep using:)

Blog Pic #338

The colors all match so perfectly! It’s a beautiful sight:) You  can’t help but smile when you see them.

Blog Pic #337

So now that I have explained my decorations, I should actually talk about the recipe I used to make these cupcakes. I wanted to make a flavor that I knew everyone would like, so I figured vanilla would be a safe bet. They turned out wonderfully. Super soft and cake-y with a strong vanilla flavor, just as it should be:) I would definitely use this vanilla cupcake recipe again! It uses sour cream which is a little different than what I am used to, but it works well for these cupcakes. I am guessing that greek yogurt can be substituted for the sour cream. That substitution is usually pretty safe. I think you could use plain, or even vanilla for more vanilla flavor:)

http://deliciouslysprinkled.com/vanilla-cupcakes/

Vanilla Cupcakes

YIELD: 12 Cupcakes

Ingredients:

VANILLA CUPCAKES:
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Directions:

PRE-STEP: Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Line (1) muffin tins with 12 cupcake liners. Set aside.

STEP 1: In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

STEP 2: In a large bowl, using an electric or stand mixer  on medium speed, beat eggs and sugar for about 2 minutes, or until light and creamy. Add the butter and vanilla extract and beat on low speed for about 1 minute, or until well blended. Beat in the dry ingredients on low speed until blended. DO NOT OVER MIX! Add the sour cream and beat until smooth.

STEP 3: Fill each cupcake liner about 3/4 the way full with cupcake batter. Bake 18 to 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Allow cupcakes to cool before frosting.

STEP 4: Frost cupcakes using a piping bag or knife. Top with SPRINKLES and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

