Homestyle Apple Sauce

Nothing like hot cinnamon applesauce straight from the crock pot on a cool September evening! Especially when you get to enjoy it with some of the best people this world has ever known! Sitting on the floor of a dorm room, taking in the warm scent of fall, laughing with friends, savoring each and every last bite of applesauce, I felt unbelievably happy:) Unbelievably happy, and blessed, and loved! I am so happy that I met these lovely ladies at college. I honestly would go insane without them. They bring so much joy and sanity to my life.

Blog Pic #347

Looking back, I honestly don’t know how I survived. Codi is the best roommate a girl could ask for! I’m a freak and get up super early every morning, nearly an hour and a half before her and we both start classes at the same time…, but anyways, she has seriously told me that I am welcome to turn the lights on in the morning. She said SHE feels bad that I sit in the dark! Can you believe that? SHE feels bad for ME? See what I mean? She’s amazing:)

Let’s bring the focus back to all of my dear friends again! Like I said they keep me from going crazy! I am almost constantly worried about school work and getting ahead on my homework, that I often forget that sometimes it’s okay to just relax! They help me with that, unintentionally. So the night we ate our applesauce and talked for two hours, I originally had every intention of finishing a chapter I was reading (not due the next day I should mention). Well as you might guess, that didn’t happen:( But you know what did happen!? Memories that’s what happened! When I look back on college I don’t want to be like “dang I was so good at studying”. That’s just silly. College is more than that! College is about learning to balance everything, not letting school and homework take over your life. Guess what else? I caught up the next morning on the reading that I didn’t quite finish, while Codi was asleep. BAM! Sometimes it’s okay to simply enjoy the moment on not worry about what you have to do next! I don’t regret a single moment of our conversations:)

So you want to know what these wonderful ladies look like? I’ll show you! This picture was taken at the state fair when we all got creamy frozen custard from Custard’s Last Stand. By the way you should check our my friend Molly’s blog as well! She’s super talented! Plus you’ll get a little more information on our state fair adventure:)

mollymarko.com

IMG958037

Okay so let’s move on to the applesauce that’s been taking up a large portion of my belly these last two days!!

Blog Pic #350

This stuff is delicious! It was the perfect way to kick off the start of fall weather! Which as always comes out of nowhere! Going from 90 degrees one day to 50 degrees the next is actually pretty normal, come September. It filled the room with the cozy smell of fall and tasted even better.

Blog Pic #349

We made this applesauce with apples we collected from the “cafeteria” (is that the correct term for college? or is commons more appropriate?). They TASTED like an apple orchard, but they had a real mushy texture:P So I thought, why not embrace the mushiness, and make some applesauce!? And so I enlisted the help of friends and we collected the apples! The next day, I peeled the apples, and Codi chopped them up. We added some water, cinnamon, and sugar, stirred it up a little, turned the crock pot to low, and let it go!

Blog Pic #346

9:30 rolls around and we have ourselves a big crock pot full of Homestyle Applesauce just begging to be devoured. The begging began again at 6:30 am the following morning as I prepared my breakfast, and again at 1:30 before I headed off to work:) It’s breakfast, it’s a snack, it’s even dessert! It’s everything you want and more!!

Blog Pic #348

Note: This recipe is just the beginning of a whole bunch of crock pot recipes to be shared! Being at college limits my abilities to cook and bake, but I have the handy dandy crock pot right in my room and a cookbook full of recipes:)

Note: My photography skills have gone down as well due to the horrible lighting in the dorm:(

Homestyle Applesauce

10-medium sized apples, peeled, cored, and diced

1/2 cup water

scant 1/2 cup sugar (add to taste if needed)

1 tsp cinnamon, optional

Place all ingredients in crock pot. Stir to coat apples in sugar. Cover and cook on low for 4-6 hours (we stopped ours at a little over 5 hours). Serve straight from the crock pot, but be careful because it’s hot!! Refrigerate leftovers, if you have any;)

One thought on “Homestyle Apple Sauce

  1. Oh Ellie! You are just the sweetest thing. I can’t even get over it. ❤ (I also can't get over your applesauce! It was absolutely delish).
    Keep on cooking, my dear. But more importantly, keep on being YOU.
    xoxoxo
    Moll

    Like

Leave a Reply

