Peanut Butter Granola

So at college, we have these group fitness classes that are offered throughout the week. Last year I attended Zumba and Boot Camp. This year Zumba has been cut, which makes me so very sad:'( So instead, this year, I am trying out Yoga and “Butts and Guts”. I went to “Butts and Guts” last night, and let me tell you, it    kicked    my    butt!! BIG time! Okay, looking back, it wasn’t THAT bad, but it sure hurt when I was doing it. When it ended though I felt so good! They’r not always fun in the moment, but the feeling of sore muscles is always a good one!

I didn’t go to this class alone, thank goodness! Two of my friends went to the class with me, and one of them is getting a health minor. She is teaching us new things every day. Like 4 tsp of sugar is equal to 1 gram. And if your pee is yellow, and you ARE hydrated, it means you may have too many vitamins!! Too far? Sorry! I just found it super fascinating! So after our workout last night, our new information surrounded topics such as lactic acid, sore muscles, and PROTEIN!

I bring this up because today’s recipe has PROTEIN! I am no health minor, but I am pretty confident that this granola makes a great post-workout snack because you need to eat protein so that your muscles can repair themselves.

So what went into my belly after an hour of abs and squats?

Peanut Butter Granola!!

Blog Pic #354

If you are a texture lover like me, you probably adore granola. I love adding that crunch to my yogurt in the morning or even just eating it by the handful as a snack! I have made Peanut Butter & Jelly Granola before, but I have never made just plain peanut butter granola. This peanut butter granola is a little more “plain” than the PB&J Granola. There is less of a “coating” on the oats, but I loved them both. It’s a very simple recipe, but if you love all things peanut butter, than it will quickly become a favorite!

Blog Pic #351

If you want big clusters of granola, don’t stir the granola very much. I only stirred mine once, half way through the baking time. Once I pulled it out of them oven for the final time, I just let it cool on the sheet without touching it. When it was cooled, I broke up the extremely large pieces, but left most of it as it was.

Blog Pic #352

Okay please take a moment to truly appreciate the bowl I used to take these photos. I found it at Michaels along with another dish you’ll be seeing soon. It’s so simple and elegant! You can’t get any more perfect. My blog investments are growing in number! I have a small collection of blog display items that just keeps on growing!:) I love it because I no longer have to use the same plates and bowls over, and over, and over, and over!!

Blog Pic #353

So take a little time out of your day today and make some granola. It’s super expensive to buy it at the store, so save yourself some money (especially if you’re in college) and make this super YUMMY homemade Peanut Butter Granola:)

Blog Pic #355

I adjusted the recipe a little, but it is based off of the one on the link. My recipe is the one written below!

http://kristineskitchenblog.com/2014/05/28/4-ingredient-peanut-butter-granola/

Peanut Butter Granola

5 cups old fashioned oats

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

1/2 cup honey

1 tsp vanilla

  1. Preheat oven to 275F.
  2. Melt peanut butter and honey in the microwave (about 20-30 seconds). Stir in vanilla.
  3. Pour mixture over oats. Stir to coat oats.
  4. Spread granola onto ungreased cooking sheet.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes, stir, bake for another 15 minutes, let cool. (letting it cool on the sheet will allow it to crunchy! don’t stir it after the 2nd baking if you want big granola clusters.)
One thought on “Peanut Butter Granola

Leave a Reply

