Soft-Baked Peanut Butter Lover’s Cookies

So I may or may not be completely obsessed with cookbooks! And I may or may not have purchased two more just two days ago!…There’s just something about the physical book that is so much better than printing recipes from online. I have quite a collection going so far! The best part is they all are filled with pictures of every recipe! Just how I like it:) It’s so hard to chose a recipe to make if you don’t know what it looks like. Seeing pretty pictures of the food makes me want to make it even more! All cookbooks should be required to have pictures in my opinion! The two books I bought ordered on Tuesday are both picture filled books, so I can’t wait for them to get here! According to amazon, they should be here today thanks to amazon prime for students!!

Do you read your cookbooks? Like front to back? Cause I most definitely do! I’ll read their little blurb in the beginning, all their tips and tricks, information about their ingredients and supplies, as well as the actual recipes. Go ahead! Judge me! I have no shame sitting in my dorm room reading about the science behind baking! I am actually really hoping that the two cookbooks I bought have lots of baking information for me to read!

Oh! Do you want to know which books I ordered?

I ordered The Biscoff Cookie and Spread Cookbook, so that Rose and I can continue our baking with Biscoff obsession!

Blog Pic #361

I also ordered Sally’s Baking Addiction Cookbook because that blog is the bomb-digity!

Blog Pic #362

That blog is actually where today’s recipe comes from. So let’s get this train back on track and talk about my belly. Because that’s why you all come here. You want to know what’s in my belly! And today my belly is filled with some SOFT-BAKED Peanut Butter Lover’s Cookies.

Blog Pic #358

Emphasis on the SOFT-BAKED! Because these babies are supremely soft! Melt-in-your-mouth and send-you-to-paradise kind of soft! They are almost crumbly because they are so extremely soft and delicate! The cookies were also extremely thick, which my older sister liked a lot, as did I! The middle bite was absolute heaven:) The pieces that had the peanut butter cups were also heavenly. Their creamy texture complimented the softness of the cookies so well! These were everything that cookies titled “soft-baked” should be and maybe even more!

Blog Pic #359

I knew these were going to be a hit in my family because everyone kept pestering me about whether they could try one. They know that they need to ask before eating my food because I have to take pictures of it for the blog. Everyone kept asking if they could have one. Because I had enough, I let them eat the ugly ones before I took pictures of the pretty ones;) It’s a win-win if you ask me because ugly cookies taste the same as pretty ones!

Blog Pic #357

So when your in the mood for some melt-in-your-mouth goodness, whip these cookies up! They’re not hard to make at all! The worst part is waiting the 30 minutes to allow the dough to chill before baking them, and even that’s not that bad. I took a walk to a nearby store during that time so that I wouldn’t be sitting around in the kitchen waiting, because everyone knows “watched cookie dough never chills!”

Blog Pic #360

Don’t forget to save extra peanuts, peanut butter chips, and peanut butter cups to put on top of the cookies as soon as they come out of the oven:) Because while the taste may not necessarily be affected by the looks of the cookies, pretty cookies are still way better than boring, un-perfected cookies!

Blog Pic #356

This is the link to the recipe from the blog. I rewrote it in my own words below!!

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2012/07/25/soft-baked-peanut-butter-lovers-cookies/

Soft-Baked Peanut Butter Lover’s Cookies

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup sugar

1 egg

3/4 cup peanut butter

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/4 cup flour

1/2 cup honey roasted peanuts

1/2 cup peanut butter chips

1/2 cup mini peanut butter cups or chopped peanut butter cups

  1. Cream together the butter and sugars for about 3 minutes.
  2. Cream in the egg, peanut butter and vanilla for another 2 minutes.
  3. Slowly beat in the baking soda and flour.
  4. Fold in the peanuts, peanut butter chips, and peanut butter cups.
  5. Chill dough for at least 30 minutes,
  6. Preheat oven to 350F.
  7. Scoop cough into 1-2 tablespoon sized mounds onto ungreased baking sheet.
  8. Slightly flatten the mounds (they don’t spread very much during baking).
  9. Bake 8-10 minutes, but don’t over bake.
  10. Allow cookies to cool completely on the baking sheet.
Leave a Reply

