Pumpkin-Banana-Zucchini Loaf

Thankful!

Blog Pic #366

To me, fall is a season of appreciation. And right now, I have a lot to be thankful for.

  1. I am thankful that I have the most understanding roommate in the world, who puts up with me every day!
  2. I am thankful that I have a super supportive family that helps me get through confusing times in my life. Like when I decided to switch majors a couple of weeks ago. Bye bye Spanish! Hello math? Maybe? I just don’t know!
  3. I am thankful that the teacher I will be observing this semester is unbelievably flexible and kind.
  4. I am thankful for this blog and everything I have been learning as I make posts! By the way, I have started posting my recipes to Pinterest!! If you want to follow me, my Pinterest name is Ellie Prax:)
  5. I am thankful for the ladies at Erbert & Gerbert’s who have memorized my order and always greet me with a smile.
  6. I am thankful I have money to be able to buy cookbooks and cute dishes on a whim! The “Thankful” bread pan is the other purchase I made from Michaels along with the “Yummy” bowl from the Peanut Butter Granola post.
  7. I am thankful that it is finally Friday!
  8. I am thankful that I have a super fun job that allows me to play instead of work! Even if the kids can get a little insane some days.
  9. I am thankful that school and classes are going well. I am ahead in most of them which makes for a less stressful week:)

There’s a billion other things that could go on that list! But I won’t bore you! But I do have one final thing to be thankful for!!

*10* I am thankful for this Pumpkin-Banana-Zucchini Loaf and all of it’s comforting fall flavor! Not only am I thankful that it tastes like fall shouldn, but it is also extremely healthy:) I mean it’s got pumpkin, zucchini, banana, greek yogurt, and flaxseed! And the best part is you’d never think it was healthy because it tastes so comforting and rich:)

Blog Pic #367

School has started, so if you ask me, that means fall is here and I can start baking with apples, pumpkin, loads of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, caramel, maple, candy corn, real corn, pumpkin spice, maple, and more!! I love this season. I love all the seasons! My favorite season is whichever season I am currently in. In changes all the time! Right now it’s fall!

I can’t wait to go to a pumpkin patch, wind my way through a corn maze, bounce along on a hay ride, pick my weight in apples at an orchard, bake pumpkin into everything, make a JUMBO apple pie (I’ll post the recipe when I make it) and wear sweaters:) To get me in the fall mood, this past weekend I baked up some of this bread! When I first told my sister about this bread, she was not a fan of the idea. She thought there was too much going on. She didn’t want three different flavors going on. She wanted one flavor, but I stood my ground and went ahead with making the bread. It’s a good thing I did, because I fell in love.

Blog Pic #363

I can’t say that I am super picky when it comes to sweet breads. I don’t think I have ever made one that I didn’t eat. That being said, I definitely don’t love every bread that I make, but I definitely loved this one. There’s just something about sweet bread filled with nuts and fall flavors that is just hitting the spot right now. I even took it to the next level by adding some of the that Vanilla Caramel Glaze to the top of each muffin. That was a wonderful decision, but was by no means necessary!

Mmmmm!! Look at that yummy, drippy glaze:)

Blog Pic #365

The bread was so moist and flavorful! The bread is so moist because it’s packed with moisture rich ingredients like pumpkin, zucchini, banana, oil, and greek yogurt! The combination of all those wonderful things make this bread soft and delicious! Having a healthy bread with great texture is hard to do, but this is definitely one of the best textured breads I have ever made! Of course I loved that there were nuts in the bread to contrast its soft and moist texture. Crunch makes everything better:)

Unfortunately, these did not last long. And not in the we-ate-them-all-in-one-day kind of way. They didn’t last long because they got moldy:( Apparently a heat filled dorm room with little air movement can make breads go moldy! It’s unfortunate, but I did get to enjoy most of it because I was eating it daily for breakfast! Next time I make bread, it is definitely going into the fridge!

Blog Pic #364

So today, try to recognize all the things in your life that you are thankful for. Then make this bread so that you can be thankful for its healthy, comforting goodness!!

The recipe come from here…

http://janetandgreta.com/recipe/pumpkin-banana-zucchini-loaf-with-flax-and-walnuts-march-2012-newsletter/

Pumpkin-Banana-Zucchini Loaf

Dry Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup ground flaxseed

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

Wet Ingredients:

1 cup mashed RIPE bananas

1 cup canned pumpkin puree

1 cup grated packed zucchini (you could also try grated carrots)

1/2 cup low-fat Greek Yogurt

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 egg

1 cup chopped walnuts (could add some chocolate chips as well)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease a 9 by 5 loaf pan, or line a muffin tray with liners (I got about 18 cupcake sized muffins).

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl and set aside.

Whisk together wet ingredients. Pour into dry ingredients and mix until just dry ingredients are moistened. DON’T OVERMIX! Fold in the chopped walnuts.

Divide batter into pans of choice.Bake for about 50-60 minutes in loaf pan, or bake about 25 minutes for muffins. Watch carefully, and don’t rely on the timer to tell you when they are done. For muffins, I like to start with 15 minutes and then check frequently after that.

Cool bread or eat it fresh from the oven:) Put leftovers in fridge!

One thought on “Pumpkin-Banana-Zucchini Loaf

Leave a Reply

