Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

Sorry for another pumpkin recipe, but it’s pumpkin time! I told you that I absolutely love celebrating different seasons! I can’t pick a favorite, because they’re so unique and different. I mean how can you even compare ice cold watermelon on a hot summers day to a perfectly spiced warm and comforting pumpkin bread? You can’t! So right now, as we finish off September, I am in full on fall mode!

I baked these muffins a couple weekends ago, so unfortunately they are not in my belly as I write this post, but believe me they have yet to disappear from my mind. Each morning I wake up I am let down when I realize these are all gone:( Seriously! There’s just something about pumpkin right now! It’s exactly what I want and need EVERY SINGLE DAY!!

Blog Pic #370

Pumpkin is something of a new thing for me. I don’t remember eating many pumpkin things when I was younger ad the texture of pumpkin pie freaks me right out! No thank you! I do, however, want to try more things with pumpkin in them this year. I have a huge list in my baking notebook of all the wonderful pumpkin things I am going to make this year, but we’ll have to wait and see how that goes. Unfortunately college makes baking very difficult and less enjoyable. I would much rather be at home in my own kitchen, rather than lugging all of my baking stuff up and down four flights of stairs:( But I make it work because I am pretty sure I would go insane if I couldn’t bake. Actually I am absolutely positive I’d go insane! I seriously have withdrawals when I come back to school after a long weekend of baking. I think one of the side effects of less time in the kitchen is feeling the need to buy cookbooks! That would explain my recent splurge of a whole $30 on cookbooks a couple days after returning to school from my weekend at home (living in the kitchen). I don’t regret that purchase though! Not one little bit! And you’ll thank me later when I start making all of those wonderful recipes!

Blog PIc #371

I could sit for hours upon hours with a cookbook! No problem! So when I got the books, that’s exactly what I did! Those cookbooks are wonderful and the Sally’s Baking Addiction Cookbook contains today’s recipe! It was actually not on purpose though. I had found the recipe earlier on her blog, and then I discovered it was also in her cookbook:)

So let’s talk about today’s recipe shall we?

Most importantly let’s talk about how soft this bread is! Pumpkin bread needs to be soft, and this bread is just that! I rave about the texture of breads all the time and this is no exception. I just can’t seem to get enough of bread like these. That’s why I made these in muffin form because goodness knows if I would have made it in a loaf pan it would have been nearly impossible to stop me from slicing off sliver after sliver of this beautiful bread. This bread is absolutely beautiful! Don’t you think so? I mean look at that warm orange color, that’s bright in a fall kind of way!

Blog Pic #369

Let’s talk about chocolate chips shall we? Chocolate chips are a no no for me when it comes to banana breads. Nuts > Chocolate every time, but I absolutely loved the chocolate chips in this pumpkin bread! I don’t know if I can go as far as to say Nuts < Chocolate for pumpkin bread because those Pumpkin-Banana-Zucchini Loaf muffins were quite amazing with the texture the nuts gave them, but I definitely would never be opposed to pumpkin bread with chocolate chips like I am to banana bread with chocolate chips. This recipe is so adaptable, so you could totally add nuts instead of chocolate, or nuts AND chocolate, or you could even try different kinds of chocolate chips! The white chocolate variation definitely caught my attention. I may need to try that soon! After I make all those other pumpkin goodies:)

Blog PIc #372

Also before I forget…Look at that plate!! I didn’t even know we had it! I was looking through our fall buckets to find things to take pictures with and I stumbled upon this beauty! How perfect?? I need to dig around more often!

So enjoy this recipe! It comes from this site:)

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2014/09/08/pumpkin-chocolate-chip-bread/

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 and 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed light or dark brown sugar
  • 1 and 1/2 cups pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (or try white chocolate, dark chocolate, or nuts)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Spray a 9×5 inch loaf pan with non-stick spray or line a muffin pan with liners (It will make less than 24, but more than 12). Set aside.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the first six ingredients (to salt). In another mixing bowl, mix together the eggs, sugars, pumpkin puree, oil and orange juice. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix until just incorporated. DON’T OVER-MIX! Fold in the chocolate chips.
  3. Pour the batter into the loaf pan or divide it evenly into the muffin liners (2/3 – 3/4 full). For the loaf pan: bake for 60-65 minutes, covering with aluminum foil about half way through to prevent the crust from getting too brown. For the muffins: bake for about 20 minutes.Allow the bread to cool on wire rack.
  4. Slice and enjoy:) It might taste better on the second day when the spices have been soaked up by the bread!
2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

Leave a Reply

