Biscoff Cream Scones

I’m Alive!!!! It’s been way way way way way way WAAAY too long!! Emphasis on the WAY!! I always knew that I loved baking, but holy buckets you guys…I don’t just love it, I NEED it! I go crazy without it! You think I am kidding do you!? Well I am most definitely not! I have been baking this last week or so, but I haven’t posted the recipes because they were nothing awesome:( I made some more applesauce. This time instead of sugar I used a can of lemon-lime soda. It tasted normal, so it was still tasty, but not blog worthy! I also made a creamy chicken and carrot crockpot thing to put over rice. It was good, but nothing to shout about. I only want to share the best! I need to have standards so you guys trust me.

So I was getting a bit anxious to try a recipe that would actually make it to my blog and these scones were the answer! So let me tell you, I didn’t hold back when I made these, and I devoured every piece I could get my hands on! And my belly was happy to be filled with such delicious blog worthy scones!

Blog Pic #379

Now this is going to sound like I am contradicting myself, but try to understand! These scones were incredible! So moist, so not dry, and so perfect for my constant Biscoff/Cookie Butter cravings! (FYI My roommate bought me another jar and I have plans for it this weekend!!). Now as amazing as they were, I couldn’t help but think of all the potential these scones had for a little dressing up! They were a plain scone with Biscoff in the middle…thats it! An amazingly delicious plain scone, but a plain scone nonetheless. So here’s what my roommate and I came up with if you’re feeling fancy!

Blog Pic #376

  1. Let’s add some spices to this scone dough! Add a little cinnamon here, a little nutmeg there, and BAMM even more deliciousness packed into these babies!
  2. Maybe you want to keep the plain scone. I don’t blame you! You’re talking to the girl who loves plain animal crackers, eating plain bread and bagels, and enjoying the crust of a blueberry pop tart! (I swear the blueberry crust is the best crust of all time! I am not sure why…pretty sure they should all taste the same…but they don’t!!). ANYWAYS, keep the plain scone and sprinkle a mixture of cinnamon and sugar on top for a little extra somethin’-somethin’!
  3. Let’s talk drizzle because drizzle makes things pretty and you all know I love me a pretty dessert! It’s not necessary, but it never hurts! I have a couple drizzle options for ya!
    1. White Chocolate: Plain and simple. Melt that white chocolate, adding a little oil to make it a little runnier, and drizzle/glob that sweetness onto your scone.
    2. Biscoff: Nothing wrong with adding even more Biscoff deliciousness to them scones! Just melt it in the microwave and drizzle it on.
    3. Biscoff AND White Chocolate: This is for all the people feeling super fancy! Melt your white chocolate, then stir in a spoonful of Biscoff. Drizzle that on and you’re in heaven!

DSC01621

So those are my suggestions! Do with them what you will. Mix and Match! Try your own variations and please let me know how they go!

Sorry about the bad photos! Dorm life is hard on the blog picture business!!

Blog Pic #375

Biscoff Cream Scones

Ingredients:

2 cups AP flour

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp salt

5 Tbsp butter, chilled and chopped into about 20 pieces

1 cup heavy cream

1/4 cup Biscoff spread, creamy or crunchy

1 Tbsp sugar for sprinkling

Optional: cinnamon, nutmeg, white chocolate, and more cookie butter

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F. Spray a baking pan and set aside.
  2. Whisk together the first 4 ingredients, up to salt. If you want a more spiced scone, add 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp cinnamon at this point.
  3. using fingers, or a pastry cutter, mix butter into flour mixture until course crumb mixture is formed.
  4. Add the cream and mix until a rough dough ball begins to form. (We used our hands and it worked great!!) As soon as dough ball forms, remove it from bowl and form two dough balls. Press the first ball into a circle shape on the greased pan. This does not need to be perfect. Ours was a little more than a 1/2 inch thick and was about the size of a 9 inch cake pan.
  5. Spread Biscoff evenly onto dough. Form the other dough ball into the same size and shape as the first (you may want to use another tray, but we just squished it apart with our hands in the air). Lay the second disk of dough on top of the Biscoff layer. Cut into 8 pieces (like a pizza) and place them on a ungreased baking sheet. Sprinkle with sugar, or a cinnamon sugar mixture for more spices.
  6. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown. COOL!! and THEN enjoy! Biscoff straight from the oven is hot my friends!! Trust me!!
  7. If you want to add a drizzle on top to make them prettier or to give them a little extra something. I would recommend a melted white chocolate drizzle, a melted Biscoff drizzle, or a melted Biscoff and white chocolate mixture drizzle. I don’t have exact amounts for these, but use your best judgement!!
Leave a Reply

