Pumpkin Caramel Swirl Cookies with Sea Salt

Holy Buckets Guys!!!! I finished these off just the other night and they were all I could think about for a solid 20 minutes! Forget homework, instead I sat in my chair in complete awe of the amazingness that had just entered my mouth.  I am not kidding! These were absolutely, positively perfect! Word of advice, enjoy every crumb of each cookie you eat! Don’t mindlessly scarf cookie into your mouth. Take the time to really appreciate it! Is it soft? chewy? crispy? sweet? salty? chocolatey? buttery? warm? burn-your-tongue hot? really think about it so that you can embrace all of its qualities and appreciate every bite! Maybe that’s a bit dramatic…? Or maybe it’s not!

So SLOWLY fill your belly with cookie after cookie because their taste is out of this world, like way out of this world!

Blog Pic #381

Speaking of out of this world have you seen The Martian? I just saw it with some friends. We went to a late showing and I was sure I would fall asleep, but I didn’t!:) So proud of myself! The point though is that it was a super good movie! I would totally recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Back to the cookies because these cookies are of the utmost importance! They’re full of pumpkin and spices and caramel! Oh yes, Caramel! And not just any caramel, HOMEMADE caramel made by my wonderful dad! And not only does it have pumpkin, spices, and caramel….it also has salt! The salt intensifies the flavors and makes the taste in these cookies explode! Never ever leave it off! They’ll still be good, but you’ll be missing so much!

Blog Pic #382

I made these cookies this past weekend when I went home to pretty much spend the day in the kitchen baking and cooking for my family! It was exactly what the doctor had ordered. It was an absolute perfect way to spend my Sunday! I’m pretty sure I could live in the kitchen…when I have to find an apartment/house someday I want a HUGE kitchen and a HUGE living room. The kitchen is for me obviously:) and the living room is so I can have lots of people over when I want to bake for them;) See how they’re connected? Who cares about bedrooms! I will sleep on the floor for all I care! I just want a massive kitchen and living room.

Well I decided I needed to make these cookies because A) they looked amazing B) they are salted and C) we had homemade caramel still! So this recipe was absolutely perfect. Now just a forewarning… these cookies are not a chewy cookie, they are very cakey! Does that matter? Nope! Not even a little, especially when they taste this good!

They are a must make fall cookie! I will definitely make them again! Anytime my dad makes caramel now, my mind is going to go directly to these cookies! So break out that canned pumpkin if you  haven’t done so yet, and whip up a giant batch of these Pumpkin Caramel Swirl Cookie with Sea Salt! The recipe makes a HUGE batch, I only made half, but trust me they’re good enough to make the mega batch:)

Blog Pic #380

http://www.thecrepesofwrath.com/2013/10/21/pumpkin-caramel-swirl-cookies/

Pumpkin Caramel Swirl Cookies
Author: The Crepes of Wrath
Prep time:  15 mins
Serves: 50-60 cookies
  • 2½ cups granulated sugar
  • ¾ cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 can (14 ounces) pumpkin puree
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon baking soda
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup homemade caramel (or caramel ice cream topping)
  • sea salt, for sprinkling
Instructions
  1. Preheat your oven to 350F. Grease your cookie sheets.
  2. In the bowl of your mixer, beat together your sugar and butter until well combined, about 1 minute. Add in the eggs, one at a time, until fully combined, then add in the pumpkin and vanilla and beat until well combined.
  3. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Add it to the pumpkin mixture, a bit at a time, until completely combined. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and be sure everything is even, then pour in half of your caramel and lightly fold it in. Add in the other half of the caramel and lightly fold it in.
  4. Scoop 1½-tablespoon sized dollops of dough onto your baking sheets (this dough is quite wet, so I used a cookie scoop), sprinkle with a bit of sea salt, and bake for 11-13 minutes, until set but not golden. Allow to cool before removing from the sheets, and continue with the remaining dough. Wait until they are completely cooled and have been out for at least a few hours before storing in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 days.
3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Caramel Swirl Cookies with Sea Salt

  1. Hi Ellie, auntie Dianne here.
    I look at your cooking site often. My you are an ambitious young lady . You should bring a batch of these pumpkin caramel cookies to thanksgiving. That caramel your dad made was really good, your mom gave me some for an introduction to fall when I saw her last get together.
    Please thank your dad for the caramel. Keep Benjamin in your thoughts and prayers as he is preparing for the sacrament of Confirmation and I was so happy he chose you for the sponsor.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

