Glazed Apple Cinnamon Scones

I have the best friends in the whole wide world! I am so pleased with the people I have chosen to put in my life! I spent Halloween weekend visiting a high school friend with my roommate in college! I’ll admit I was nervous about how well my two separate world would mesh, but they fit together perfectly! There was zero awkwardness all weekend long! It could not have gone any better:) It was a busy and fun filled weekend! Looking back, all of my weekends in October have been amazing! And I’m about to kick off November with another family filled weekend because it’s hunting opener:) I love this kind of stuff! I can’t wait to see family!!

Blog Pic #387

So lately I’ve been focusing on pumpkin…like a lot! And while I love pumpkin, I think it’s time to switch the focus back to my love of apples! Oh apples! Apples are my life!! This past weekend I discovered that my friend’s family doesn’t use the apples from their tree, so guess who helped herself to a giant bag full? This girl!! If your reading this Terri, I’ll be coming soon for more apples;) Not only are they free, but they’re absolutely delicious and perfect for baking too! Which is exactly what I plan to do with my next bag full!

Blog Pic #390

So because my belly needs a constant supply of apples and because I was home for the weekend and could do some baking, I decided to make these Apple Cinnamon Scones!

Scones are my newest baking love! I’ve been trying and pinning lots of different recipes! I don’t know what it is about them that I love so much, i just know that I do.  So these apple cinnamon ones were definitely a keeper, hence their appearance on my blog;) They were soft and packed with lots of cinnamon warmth. I loved them straight out of the oven, but they also tasted mighty fine the next morning!

Blog Pic #388

The glaze is a creation all my own! The recipe called for a simple powdered sugar and milk glaze…boring!! I wanted to spice it up a little bit. The cinnamon cream cheese we had in the fridge caught my eye, and gave me an idea! How about a cinnamon cream cheese glaze I thought! And that was the best idea ever. It worked perfectly with the scones and I loved it. I didn’t measure anything out, but basically I took a spoonful of the cream cheese, stirred in some milk, and stirred in some powdered sugar and that was my glaze! Nothing fancy or complicated:) Except it tastes pretty fancy if you ask me!

Blog Pic #389

I make scones with my fingers, but feel free to use the fancy equipment the recipe calls for:) My way is lots of fun, but its pretty messy, but a delicious kind of messy;) Yes eat that sticky dough right off your hands!!

http://www.averiecooks.com/2014/09/glazed-apple-cinnamon-scones.html

GLAZED APPLE CINNAMON SCONES

INGREDIENTS:

Scones
3/4 to 1 cup grated apple loosely laid in cup, not packed
2 cups all-purpose flour + about 2 to 4 tablespoons for work surface and hands
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
pinch salt, optional and to taste
1/2 cup unsalted butter, cold (1 stick) (grate frozen butter or dice cold butter it into small pieces before adding to flour mixture)
1 large egg
1/2 cup sour cream (lite is okay)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Glaze
Cinnamon Cream Cheese, powdered sugar, milk

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F. Line a baking sheet with a Silpat or parchment; set aside.
  2. Scones – Grate the apples using the coarsest blade of a box grater (not worth dirtying a food processor); set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, add 2 cups flour, granulated sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, optional salt, and whisk to combine.
  4. Add the butter, and with a pastry cutter or two forks, cut the butter in. (I just use my fingers! Work quickly though so you  don’t get the butter too warm! Scones need cold butter.) The dough will be clumpy.
  5. In a small bowl, add the egg, sour cream, vanilla, and whisk to combine until smooth.
  6. Pour wet mixture over dry, and fold until just combined; don’t overmix or scones will be tough.
  7. Add the apples and any juice that was released and fold until just combined; don’t overmix. Dough will be wet and sticky.
  8. Sprinkle about 2 tablespoons flour onto cutting board where you will prepare the dough.
  9. Turn dough out onto surface and shape it into a 8-inch round, approximately. Dough is very moist, wet, sticky, and tacky, add flour only if necessary.
  10. With a large knife, slice the round into 8 equal-sized wedges, like a pizza!
  11. Using a flat spatula or pie turner, carefully transfer wedges to prepared baking sheet spaced at least 2-inches apart. Don’t put them too close because scones get big and puffy when they bake. Bake for about 20 to 24 minutes, or until scones are very lightly golden and cooked through. Overbaked scones are dry, so watch them closely.
  12. Transfer scones to cooling rack, especially if bottoms browned quickly. While the scones cool, make the glaze.
  13. Glaze – Mix together cream cheese, milk and powdered sugar until desired consistency is reached.
  14. Drizzle on that glaze!!
Leave a Reply

