Peanut Butter Candy Corn Bars

I am very particular about when I eat certain foods. I like to keep things special by only eating them at certain times during the year. I mean if you ate your favorite food every day, you’d get sick of it. What if your those special Christmas cookies you make started to make an appearance all year long? They would lose their specialness? Right? This is psychology people!

I tell you this because I am breaking my rules today:( I forgot about posting this recipe. I wanted to do it in October because that’s the only time I really eat candy corn. I am not completely opposed to eating candy corn in November, but it feels weird. Despite this, I need to post this recipe because it was yummy and goodness knows it will be completely forgotten by next year.

Blog Pic #401

So today I give you a recipe for Peanut Butter Candy Corn Bars. It filled my belly in October, but I’m just getting around to posting it now. It’s a recipe of my own creation, sort of! I used a peanut butter bar recipe and added more peanuts and some candy corn!

Blog Pic #399

Peanuts and candy corn! It just doesn’t get much better than that combination. Like all other sweet and salty combinations, you find yourself eating handful after handful. It’s one of my favorite October treats. No baking necessary, just a jar of peanuts and a bag of candy corn and you are sent to heaven:) My love for this combination inspired this “recipe”.

Blog Pic #400

These bars turned out pretty great! They were extremely sweet because of all the candy corn I added! I added a little more than I had originally planned. I added some to the batter, and then I put some on top to make it pretty. My mistake however, was adding them on top BEFORE baking because as it turns out, they sink into the batter as they bake:( So of course, when they came out, I added some more candy corn because they had to be pretty for the pictures. True candy corn fans will not mind this candy corn over load, but it may be a bit much for some. The recipe I post below calls for the RIGHT amount of candy corn. It calls for less candy corn than I put in the bars I made because in the recipe I tell you to wait till after baking to add candy corn to the tops of these bars.

Blog Pic #402

So my fellow candy corn lovers, save this recipe!

Peanut Butter Candy Corn Bars

  • 2/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup creamy or crunchy peanut butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2/3 cup peanuts
  • 3/4 cup candy corn – divided into 1/2 cup and 1/4 cup
  1. Preheat oven to 325F. Line with foilf and grease a 9 by 13 inch pan.
  2. In a large bowl, beat butter, sugars and peanut butter until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla, beat well. Slowly beat in milk. Slowly beat in flour and baking powder. Stir in peanuts and 1/2 cup candy corn. Spread into the baking pan.
  3. Bake for 40 to 45 minutes. Cool in pan on wire rack. Cut bars and enjoy:)

 

Leave a Reply

