Soft-Baked White Chocolate Chip Molasses Cookies

Hello Blog World! After what feels like a very long break, I am back! The end of the semester got busy, and getting good grades seemed more important than posting recipes. I hope you will forgive me! I’m back home now, but I have another final to take tomorrow:( I’m trying to study, but I am not very motivated. You see the final is only worth 15 points, and I have like 20 points of extra credit…so I could literally not take the final…but if I don’t show up or I don’t study that’ll look bad. Plus, you know I am paying to take this class, might as well get my money’s worth and actually learn something!!

Blog Pic #407

So in between studying and doing some Christmas shopping, I am doing lots of baking! We already have so many treats on our porch, and I’ve only been home 3 days!!

Blog Pic #408

So last month was everything pumpkin spice, this month is going to be everything molasses/ginger/cinnamon/nutmeg! I am in love with gingerbready flavors right now! I don’t know where exactly that came from. Traditionally, those have not been a part of our Christmas cookie making, but this year they’re all I can think about. I’ve pinned so many recipes…gingerbread loaf, molasses ginger raisin cookies, gingerbread pancakes and waffles, gingerbread cinnamon rolls, gingerbread granola, ginger bread cookie butter, molasses gingerdoodles, gingerbread scones, and even gingerbread brownies. You could say I’m SLIGHTLY obsessed;) Some of those will definitely be making it to the blog within the next few weeks.

Blog Pic #409

But instead of discussing what will eventually be in my belly, let’s talk about what’s in my belly right now:) Soft-Baked White Chocolate Chip Molasses Cookies!!

Blog Pic #411.jpg

These little guys are so adorable. I made them nice and tiny because duh! Tiny is so much better! It makes them feel more special and I feel dainty when I eat them! Not only are they super cute and tiny, but they also sparkle! Look at them??

Blog Pic #410

So if your loving all things molassesy and gingery like me, make these now!! They’re super soft and incredibly moist! They will be the perfect addition to your holiday cookie tray! Trust me!!

Okay, good-bye for now! I’ll be back very soon:) Probably tomorrow;)

P.S. Sorry for the horrible pictures. That red table cloth was a horrible idea and they were all a little blurry:(

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2014/12/15/soft-baked-white-chocolate-chip-molasses-cookies/

Soft-Baked White Chocolate Chip Molasses Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1 and 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 3/4 cup packed dark brown sugar (light brown is OK)
  • 1/3 cup dark molasses
  • 1 egg, at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 and 1/2 cups white chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar, for rolling

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and salt. Set aside. In the bowl of a handheld mixer or a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream the softened butter for about 1 minute on medium speed. Add the brown sugar and beat on high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 full minutes. Scrape down the sides as needed. Add the molasses, egg, and vanilla. Beat well on high, scraping down the sides as needed again.
  2. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet on low speed. Once mixed, beat in the white chocolate chips on low speed until dispersed. Try to avoid overmixing. Cover dough tightly and chill for at least 2 hours and up to 3 days.
  3. Remove cookie dough from the refrigerator. If you let it chill for longer than 6 hours, allow to sit out at room temperature for at least 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 350F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone mat. Pour the granulated sugar into a bowl. Take 2 Tablespoons of dough and roll into a ball, then roll into the sugar. Bake for precisely 8-9 minutes. Remove from the oven and gently press the top of the cookie down with the back of a utensil or even use your fingers. You’re trying to obtain a crinkly top. Place back into the oven for 1 more minute. Cookies will be puffy and still appear very soft in the middle. That’s ok. Remove from the oven and allow to cool on the baking sheet for ten minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
Leave a Reply

