Christmas Sugar Cookies

Merry Late Christmas!! I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas:) Mine has been lots of fun. I spent my time eating good food and making memories with my family! I can’t believe how quickly it goes! My Christmas celebrations are not over yet though. I have one more to go. My family hasn’t had our Christmas yet, but that should be happening soon!!

Blog Pic #412

I had planned on posting this before Christmas, but then we kept not frosting them. We finally frosted them on the 26th! Speaking of frosting, I’m not posting the recipe for the frosting on these cookies because if I’m being honest, we don’t really use one. I pour some powdered sugar in a bowl, slowly stir in water until its the “right” consistency (not too thin and not to thick), very technical I know;) After you reach the right consistency, you add some vanilla. I usually just pour some in, but you could add it 1/2 tsp at a time until you get the right amount!

Blog Pic #413

Oh and speaking of vanilla, I got to use my fancy vanilla for the frosting. I have three different vanillas. “Regular” pure vanilla extract, vanilla bean paste (my favorite for flavor), and clear vanilla. I used the clear vanilla for the frosting because it keeps the white, well, white! In years past, we’ve had to either not add vanilla to the white frosting to keep it nice and white, or we’ve had a brown tinted white for our snowmen and polar bears:( With the new addition of clear vanilla to my baking supplies, I am able to still get the vanilla taste in the frosting while keeping it white as snow:) It’s a silly thing to get excited about, I know, but don’t judge me.

Blog Pic #415

I was also super excited to use my brown dye for the second year. Making brown food coloring out of the usual red, green, yellow, and blue is an art. It’s one that I was getting pretty good at, but my brown food coloring is so much nicer! Look at that beautiful brown reindeer!!

Blog Pic #416

I had so much fun decorating this year! I really got into the little holly sprinkles, and this little ornament was one of my favorites:)

Blog Pic #414

I also had lots of fun with the trees this year. I made a TON of trees because I think they are so much fun to decorate! So I sprinkled some of them, but then I got the idea to use two different greens to create designs on the trees with a tooth pic. To get the swirly one, I frosted the cookie with one green, then I made lined from the tip of the tree to the base of the tree with the other green. After doing so, I took the tooth pic and pull the frosting from the center line of the tree to the outer branches:)

Blog Pic #417

The recipe comes from the classic Betty Crocker’s Cookbook:)

A helpful tip…If the dough is getting warm as you cut out shapes, put the cut out shapes in the freezer for a few minutes before baking, so the cookies don’t spread as much.

Sugar Cookies

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 2 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar

Mix powdered sugar, butter, egg, vanilla, and almond extract. Mix in flour, baking soda, and cream of tartar. Cover and refrigerate at least two hours.

Heat oven to 375 F. Roll large chunks of dough into 3/16 inch thick slabs on floured surface. Cut into shapes!

Place on lightly greased cookie sheet (we never grease ours and we’ve never had a problem). Bake until edges are lightly brown, 7-8 minutes.

Frost and enjoy!:)

 

 

Leave a Reply

