Brown Butter Cinnamon Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Oh my chewy goodness!! Seriously! These beautiful little cookies are so soft and chewy! So perfectly moist! They’re still unbelievably perfect, and it’s been a week since I made them. That my friends is the sign of a good cookie:)

Blog Pic #423

I’ve told you that I have been in love with molasses this season! I still have a list of things I want to make, but I’m quickly running out of time:( As excited as I am to go back to school, I’m going to miss my kitchen!

Blog Pic #425

Back to the cookies! I had so much fun making these cookies! The cinnamon chips are so mini and adorable! One of my favorite parts of making cookies is placing the chocolate chips on the cookies after they come out of the oven. I get to make each cookie beautiful. Everyone loves a pretty cookie! They just taste so much better!!

Blog Pic #427

See the plates in these photos? Do you love them? I do!! For Christmas, my sister got me lots of different plates and dishes for my blog photos! It was the perfect gift and I can’t wait to use them all on the blog!! I paired the new teal plate she bought me with the teal plate my aunt bought me this summer! They look so good together, the only thing is that you don’t see all the pretty designs on the new plate:(

Blog Pic #424

So please do yourself a huge favor and make these cookies! And make them soon because this time of year is the perfect time for the molasses and warm spices in these cookies.

Brown Butter Cinnamon Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Blog Pic #426

Brown Butter Cinnamon Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients

8 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted until browned and brought back to room temperature
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup quick cooking oats
1/2 teaspoon cornstarch
1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons molasses
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 large egg + 1 egg yolk, at room temperature
1 cup cinnamon chips

Instructions

  1. Place the butter in a small sauce pan over medium-heat and cook for about 4 minutes – stirring frequently – or until the butter has completely melted and taken on a golden brown hue. Remove from heat and pour the butter into a small heatproof bowl. Place the bowl in the refrigerator (or freezer) and bring the butter back to room temperature. I suggest stirring the butter every 30 minutes or so with a rubber spatula, so ensure even cooling. *You’ll know the butter is at room temperature when you press a finger into the top and it makes a slight indentation.
  2. Once the butter is at room temperature…
  3. In a large mixing bowl combine the flour, oats, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves; set aside.
  4. In the bowl of an electric stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment – or in a large bowl using a handheld mixer – combine the browned butter and sugars; beat on medium speed until light and fluffy; about 5 minutes. Beat in molasses and vanilla.
    Add in the egg and egg yolk, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  5. Slowly add the dry ingredients into the wet mixture, beat on low until just combined; about 25 seconds. Using a rubber spatula, fold in cinnamon chips. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for one hour.
  6. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350 degrees (F). Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper or silicon baking mats.
  7. Scoop 2 tablespoon sized balls of dough out, roll them into balls, and place on prepared baking sheet. Repeat with all dough, leaving 2 1/2 inches in between cookies (they spread a lot!). Bake in preheated oven for 9 minutes, or until set at the edges but still slightly jiggly in the center.
  8. Allow cookies to cool 5 minutes on the baking sheet before transferring to wire rack to cool completely.
One thought on “Brown Butter Cinnamon Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Leave a Reply

